About the College

The University of Mysore is one of the oldest Universities in India. Sri Krishnaraja Wodeyar IV, the benevolent rule of Mysore and Sir M.Visweswaraya, Engineer-Statesman and the then Dewan of Mysore, were the pioneers in establishing the University. The University came into existence on 27th July, 1916, as the sixth in the country and the very first in the erstwhile Princely State of Mysore.

Maharaja's College, which was the nucleus of the University in the beginning, is now a Constituent College offering Degree Courses in Arts, Commerce and Business Administration, post graduate courses in Criminology and Forensic Science, International Relations, Geography and P.G.  Diploma in Criminology and Correctional Administration (from 2008-09), and it has had its Centenary year as long back as 1951.

The campus is at the heart of the city and yet in the midst of lush greenery. The location is at once serene and convenient.